The ANC in Limpopo has re-elected Stanley Mathabatha as its provincial chairperson, having received more votes than Dickson Masemola.

While this is his third term at the helm, he’s already indicated it would be for a few months as he’s eyeing a senior position in the ANC’s national top structure in the coming months.

ALSO READ: ANC Limpopo convey condolences to late SABC journalist Matome Maupi

Mathabatha received 781 votes as opposed to Masemola’s 389 at the Ranch, outside Polokwane. Masemola, who is Public Works and Infrastructure MEC, was not present in the plenary hall when results were announced this afternoon.

Former provincial secretary, Soviet Lekganyane was seen as the biggest loser after failing to beat a lesser-known challenger, Rueben Madanzhe who defeated him by 717 votes to 451.

Stanley Mathabatha re-elected Limpopo ANC Chairperson
Stanley Mathabatha


Lekganyane was in the losing slate that also saw Florence Radzilani defeat Mopani mayor Pule Shayi by 418 votes. Radzilani, who was seeking re-election, got 791 votes while Shayi received 373.

Basikopo Makamu saw off Levhuwani Magaraba by 797 votes to 365 votes and retained his position as deputy secretary.

Current Peter Mokaba region treasurer Nakedi Sibanda-Kekana won the provincial treasurer position. She defeated Faith Chauke by 786 votes to 375.

Masemola’s dejected slate and its supporters were not present in the hall when the results were announced.