The South African Traditional Music Achievements Awards (SATMA Awards) in partnership with the Department of Culture, Sport and Recreation in Mpumalanga held the 17th annual SATMA Awards. The awards took place at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga on the 1st of October 2022.

The event was well attended by prestigious guests and all who love and adore their culture and heritage. All dressed to impress, the Recarpet was alive with traditional garments and eye-catching colors as many wanted to showcase their love for their cultural roots. The Masters of ceremony this year were Lesley Musina from Limpopo and Kajal Maharaj.

SATMA honour former Miss Universe
Master of ceremony Lesley Musina

Performances of the day

This year’s performing line up had the following acts, Intaba Yase Dubai, Nathi Mankayi, Lebo Sekgobela, Nomcebo Zikode, Zama Khumalo and Cevuzile. The audience also enjoyed the sounds of the band that played for Reggae Legend Lucky Philip Dube. Mduduzi Ntlui the comedian, reminded us that laughter is the best medicine.

The event was not short of entertainment as the cultural groups delivered outstanding performances, this being the Tswana group, Siswati group, Xitsonga group, Ndebele group, Sepedi group, Afrikaans group, Indian group, and Sesotho group.

All eyes were on some the Nominees that attended the awards, with the hope to walk away as a SATMA Award winner.


The night ended on a stunning note as the Founder of the SATMA Awards, Mr. Dumisani Goba awarded and handed Zozibini Tunzi (Miss Universe 2019) an honorary SATMA Award trophy for being a positive role model for Africa and the entire world. The SATMA Awards wishes to congratulate all the winners of the 17th Annual SATMA Awards.

Winners 17th Annual SATMA Awards

Afro Soul Song- Daniel Brothers- We Dance Again

African Jazz Artist and Group – Mthobisi Mthalane- Usizi Lomuntu Omnyama

Reggae Artist- Burning Fire

Best Praise Singer Artist or Group – Venda Boy

Best Indigenous Poet Artist and Group – Ntombi ya Mutsonga

Ntombi ya Mutsonga
  1. Best Upcoming Artist and Group – Mason’s the Melodian

2. Best Traditional Acapella Artist – X3 – Amandl’ethu

3. Best Traditional Music Community Radio Presenter – Lunga Mgamie Zibonele FM

4. Best Department of Arts & Culture – North West

5. Best Department Cultural Affairs Chief Director- Limpopo

6. Best Traditional Outfit- Nomsa Mkhonza

7. Best Traditional Social Media Influencer- Zamamboe Mkhize

8. Best Sepedi Artist – Katalia – Bophelo

9. Best Venda Artist/Group – Vha Venda Cultural Group – Dziya Fhiritanashudu

10. Best Xitsonga Artist/Group- Nurse Matlala – Soft Life

11. Best Ndebele Artist/Group –  Allentjie – Ngezikama Jasi

12. Best isiXhosa Artist/Group- Sivuyile- Bamboo Lwam

13. Best SeTswana Artist/Group – Dikwena Tsa Matlosana – Tiki

14. Best Siswati Artist/Group- Msa Lomshiyo – Sbongo Sami

15. Best Indian Artist/Group – Pritisha M- Ye Hawaye

16. Best Sesotho Artist/Group- Khopolo Khuluoe – Lisothile Bokaota 10

17. Best Boeremusiek Artist/Group – Vatvas Dansorkes – KitKat Verlange

18. Best Maskandi Artist/Group- Udumakahle – Phakathi Komhlane Nembekeko

19. Best Voted Song of the year- Gatsheni- Inhlupheko

20. Best Traditional Music SABC Radio Presenter- Motsweding FM – Tom Perez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *