President Cyril Ramaphosa has finally appointed the SABC Board. This comes six months after the term of the previous board came to an end.

The president had come under heavy criticism from opposition parties for the delay in appointing the board. In December last year, parliament approved a list of 12 names to serve as non-executive members.

Also Read: High court grants president Cyril Ramaphosa interdict

The appointed non-executive members will serve for five years, effective from the date of the publication of notice in the Government Gazette.


Ramaphosa has also designated Khathutshelo Ramukumba as Chairperson and Nomvuyiso Batyi as the Deputy Chairperson of the Board.

President Cyril Ramaphosa appoints SABC Board
President Cyril Ramaphosa appoints SABC Board


There is the full list of the 12 board members:

Mr. Khathutshelo Ramukumba [Chairperson]
Ms. Nomvuyiso Batyi [Deputy Chairperson]
Dr Renee Horne;
Adv Tseliso Thipanyane;
Ms Phathiswa Magopeni;
Ms. Aifheli Makhwanya;
Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba;
Ms Magdalene Moonsamy;
Ms Rearabetsoe Motaung;
Mr David Maimela;
Mr Mpho Tsedu; and
Ms Palesa Kadi.

The SABC is a vital institution of our constitutional democracy,” said the President in a statement.

“I trust the newly appointed board members will work hard at ensuring that South Africa continues to benefit from a stable, independent and effective national public broadcaster.”