Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates Legends on Sunday graced Malamulele, Collins Chabane Municipality in Limpopo for the Tonic Chabalala annual games. It was the third edition of the matches hosted by the former Orlando Pirates defender through his foundation.

It was an entertaining game infront of a packed Malamulele Stadium. Players from yesteryear representing both the Soweto giants did not disappoint. Amakhosi were the winners on the day with a 3-2 scoreline. Retired referee Victor Hlungwani was the match referee of the day.

Frank Makua opened the scoring for Amakhosi earlier in the first half before striker David Radebe increased the lead a few moments later. The match went to the half time break at 2-1 after the Buccaneers found the back of the net through a Katlego Mashego penalty.

Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs legends entertain crowds in Limpopo
Collins Chabalala and Morgan Gould

Also read: Limpopo club Marumo relegated from DStv Premiership

Chiefs continued where they left off in the first half and quickly increased the lead through a Morgan Gould header.

Mashego pulled one back for Pirates, but it was too little too late as Chiefs sealed the victory. Pirates Legend Daniel ‘Sailor’ Tshabalala expressed his delight in once again playing infront of their fans.

“It’s always a marvellous thing [to play infront of the fans] because this is what we love even at our age,” he said.

“We know we still have fans and they want to see us. So it’s nice to give them what they deserve and this is what we are trying to do.”

Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates legends entertain crowds in Malamulele
Katlego Mashego pass through Chiefs players


Aubrey Mathibe, Rodney Thobejane, Morgan Gould, Mandla Masango Frank Makua, Doctor Khumalo, Siphiwe Tshabalala, David Radebe, Thabo Mooki, Tshepo Molatedi, Derrick Spencer, Brilliant Khuzwayo, David Mathebula and Josta Dladla.


Lucky Shiburi, Tonic Chabalala, Abednigo “Tsotsi No.1” Netshodwe, Innocent Chikoya, Daniel “Sailor” Tshabalala, Edelbert Dinha, Bennett Chenene, Steve Lekoelea, Collins Chabalala, Tebogo Moloi [coach] and Katlego Mashego.