The Gateway Airports Authorities Limited or GAAL in Limpopo now has a full-complement appointed Board of Directors. This follows the recent appointment of the new members of the board.

The entity has been operating without a full-complement Board of Directors as a result of resignations by most members in the recent past.

ALSO READ: EFF to boycott the State of the Nation address 

Limpopo MEC for Transport and Community Safety, Florence Radzilani on Thursday attended an induction workshop for the new members.

“This has stifled its oversight function.  As it did not have adequate members to formulate strategic committees that are critical for its optimal functioning,” said Radzilani.

The recruitment process of the new board has, according to MEC Radzilani, attracted individuals who possess the correct skills and acumen. To develop the aviation sector within the Province.

“The new additions to the Board, are ‘charged-up individuals’ who will bring the much-needed impetus to the oversight function of the entity,” she said.

New Gateway Airports Authorities Limited or GAAL board appointed
Polokwane Airport


The new members include Advocate Nkhangweleni Edward Lambani, a seasoned government official and former Secretary of the Limpopo Legislature. He is an admitted Attorney of the High Court. He possesses two Master of Laws Degrees from the Universities of Wits and Johannesburg.

Adv Lambani sits on the Committees of various entities, including the Makhado and Musina Local Municipalities. He is also the Chairperson of the Audit Committee of the Vhembe District Municipality.

Mr Suren Maharaj is a Committee Member and Chairperson of numerous Boards. This includes Boxing South Africa, the Tshwane University of Technology, the South African State Theatre and many others. He is a Chartered Accountant by profession, and he also holds a Masters’ Degree from the Regenesys Business School.

Ms Velma Salome Mabilane brings with her to the Committee, a vast knowledge in the field of Cost and Management Accounting. She is also a member of various other Committees that include the Enhlanzeni TVET College, the National Heritage Council and several others.