The identities of the seven deceased involved in the fatal R101 accident in Mookgophong, Limpopo on Sunday have been confirmed. 

The accident claimed the lives of five passengers from a Renault Sedan car. As well as two passengers from a Toyota light delivery van along R101 between Mookgophong and Mokopane in the early hours of Sunday 11 February 2024.

ALSO READ: Vhavenda Kingship Court battle continues in Polokwane

According to reports, a Renault sedan collided head-on with a Toyota light delivery van. It was reportedly travelling from Mookgophong towards Mokopane. Two deceased passengers from the SAPS Toyota light delivery van were a police officer and also a suspect. 

R101 accident identities confirmed
R101 accident in Mookgophong


1.Constable Makoela Mpetli [29] attached to SAPS Naboomspruit.

2. Deceased Suspect: Mr Resemate William Ntemane [45]. The suspect was initially arrested for assault and intimidation and was being transported to Mokopane SAPS, for detention.

All five deceased people in the silver Renault sedan are from Lefahleng village in Hammanskraal. They were also identified as:

1. Driver: Tlometsane Gontse Hendrick [29].

2. Tlometsane Thabang Samuel [27].

3.Tlometsane Klaas Sello [64].

4. Tlometsane Kagiso Philimon [42].

5. Also Tlometsane Selaki Elizabeth [60].

The driver of the SAPS vehicle, Sergeant, was rushed to the hospital and he is also receiving medical attention. The cause of this horrific accident is still unknown and is currently being investigated. 

The Provincial Commissioner, Lieutenant General Thembi Hadebe, has also sent messages of condolences to the bereaved families and wishes the driver a speedy recovery.