The ANC has won Ward 17 [Lebowakgomo], in the Lepelle-Nkumpi Municipality, Limpopo following the by-election held on Tuesday.

The party retained the seat it won in the 2021 Local Government Elections, with 69,71% of the total valid votes cast. This is compared to 63,50% during the 2021 Local Government Elections. The voter turnout was 39,53%.

ALSO READ: Court rules in ANC’s favour against one of its members

The ANC was represented by Walter Nkune. Ponagatjo Negry Chiloane represented the Defenders of the People, Hlakodisho Hlabanelo Ramalebana represented the EFF, Leka Steven Nambo represented the Economic Liberators Forum South Africa; and Thapelo Mowa stood for United Africans Transformation.

ANC wins Ward 17 in Lepelle-Nkumpi Municipality by-election
Ward 17 candidate summary


The ward became vacant as a result of the death of the ward councillor. In the end, Walter Nkune was elected the new councillor for after receiving 1015 votes [69.71%].

The EFF received 251 votes, Defenders of the People 176 votes. United Africans Transformation 11 and Economic Liberators Forum South Africa 3 votes. Special voting also took place at the voting stations, as well as through home visits on Monday. 

 Meanwhile, the ANC in Peter Mokaba Region will host a press briefing on the outcomes of the Ward 17 Lepelle-Nkumpi Municipal by-elections on Thursday.