Member of the National Assembly Collen Malatji has been elected the new president of the ANC Youth League. He was elected unopposed at the 26th ANCYL elective Congress at Nasrec Exhibition Centre in Johannesburg, Gauteng on Saturday.

Malatji was the only candidate to garner enough support to make it onto the ballot through branch nominations.

ALSO READ: Ace Magashule expelled from the ANC

It is also the first congress to be convened by the youth league in eight years. The 30-year-old started his political career at the age of 13, joining the Congress of South African Students [COSAS] in Tembisa, and eventually serving as its president.

He became the youngest member of the National Assembly at the start of the sixth administration in 2019.

“I want to be known for being a president of the youth league that’s worked very hard to restructure the economy. I am a very principled cadre, when I say I am going to implement something I will, I don’t change along the way,” said Malatji on Saturday.

Collen Malatji elected ANC Youth League president
Delegates at the ANC Youth League elective congress


President: Collen Malatji Deputy President: Phumzile Mgcina Secretary General: Mntuwoxolo Ngudle Deputy Secretary General: Tsakani Shiviti 2nd Deputy Secretary General: Olga Seate Treasurer: Zwelo Masilela

Meanwhile, the conference was marred with issues on day one. There were attempts to register delegates in the early hours of Saturday morning.
Some provinces raised issues over the number of delegates accounted for. Regions such as Vhembe, Tshwane and Chris Hani also complained about representations.